IT READS HERE ON…

Cities of Holland
-----------
Museums of Holland
-----------
Celebrations
-----------
Dutch gastronomy
-----------
Photos of Holland
-----------
Videos of Holland
-----------
Flights to Holland
-----------
Hotels in Holland







Museum of History, Palace of the Pr�ncipe, Delft

The Museum of History of Delft, in the Palace of the Prince

Throughout the world, Delft is synonymous of ceramics. He is not stranger who thus is: the most beautiful blue and white pieces leave their factories. Nevertheless, this charming city much more must offer. Or in boat, bici-taxi or from the sky, to cross it is always an unforgettable experience.

The most recent history of Delft begins there by year 1075, when the artisan weave production and the elaboration of beer were their main economic sustenance. After an immense explosion in 1645, that destroyed a good portion of the medieval center, the city was put again still on and towards end of century XVII already it was reconstructed totally.

Of the previous time to the disaster, the Oude Kerk - Old Church is a magnificent evidence. It was built around year 1246, and a century later added the tower, of 75 meters of height. If we watched carefully, we will observe that the ground has yielded remarkably, and the tower is inclined. The gothic style of the set is of a imperdible mystical beauty.

The Nieuwe Kerk - New Church, in spite of its name, also resisted to a great extent the force of the explosion. The works for their construction were developed between years 1383 and 1510, and was recovered after the accident. She is famous to lodge the pantheon of the Royal Family, where the mausoleum of Guillermo de Orange stands out. Its sculpture is accompanied by the figure of an angel with a trompeta, that symbolizes the fame.

The Prinsenhof - Palace of the Prince keeps in its interior the Museum of History of Delft. In his origins, it was a monastery founded on 1403 in honor of Santa ?gata. The number of members of the order considerably, so that repeated extensions to the building were realized. It receives his name of Guillermo de Orange, who lived there until his death in 1584, at hands Balthazar Gerards and by orders of Felipe II of Spain.

Photo Via: Computer Science Department - New York University

Popularity: 9% []

It beats here to print this article

  • There are no commentaries still…

Home | Sitemap | Contact us | Copyright © 2010 www.netherlodger.com All rights reserved.

, , , ,